4.6/5 rating (7 votes)
sentix Economic index

sentix Economic index

The sentix economic index is the "first mover" among the monthly sentiment indicators on economic development. It is surveyed within two days at the beginning of the month among investors registered with sentix and published shortly afterwards. Thus, it is always the first available among the leading indicators such as the ZEW economic expectations, the ifo business climate or the economic sentiment. As a rule, the sentix Business Cycle Index has a leading character compared to the other indicators. With its help, the developments of the other indices can usually be estimated very well.

The sentix economic Index is basically a leading economic indicator that can be used to forecast the development of a country's or region's gross domestic product (chart below left). In addition, it is also an instrument for a better understanding of the financial markets. The sentix business cycle index is particularly suitable for interpreting financial market developments because it reflects the assessments of (surveyed) investors. It can thus give indications as to whether or not the motive of the economy is influencing prices at a certain point in time. Rising share prices, for example, could be the mere expression of excessive liquidity seeking an outlet - or a consequence of the fact that investors, i.e. market participants, expect a corresponding real economic dynamic in the future. Such an assessment would then be indicated by a rising economic index.

1_skie_bip    2_skie_esi

Since 2003, the sentix economic Index has been calculated from a monthly survey of over 5,000 private and institutional investors on their assessment of the economic situation and their economic expectations (6-month expectations). sentix calculates indices for these two sub-questions and also combines them into an overall index. Investors are surveyed on four regions and three countries. The overall index for Euroland is the central index, which is also regularly and comprehensively reported on in the media. It can be found in the publication calendars of news agencies such as Bloomberg or Thomson Reuters.

How to use the indicator

The sentix economic index is, on the one hand, a leading economic indicator that can be used to forecast the economic development of various countries and regions, measured in terms of gross domestic product. It reflects investors' perception of the economy. Therefore, on the other hand, the sentix Economic Index can also contribute to a better understanding of developments on the financial markets. This is because it provides indications as to whether or not the motive of the economy at a certain point in time is decisive for the actions of market participants and thus determines prices. For example, rising share prices could also result from excessive liquidity alone - or be the consequence of expected real economic dynamism, which is then expressed in a rising sentix business cycle index. The latter could be interpreted as a sign that the development is more sustainable or less risky than in a purely liquidity-driven market.

Like other sentix indicators, the sentix economic index uses its lows and highs - usually with a lead time - to indicate reversal points in both economic and financial market trends. The sentix economic index can thus provide entry and exit signals for markets and serve as an (additional) instrument for timing capital market investments. It also indicates when trends (in the economy or on the markets) are intact and can be followed. In addition, the sub-indices of the sentix economic index provide information on the maturity of a trend: Especially with regard to expectations, the developments of institutional investors usually run ahead of those of private investors: Consequently, a trend reversal is usually first announced via the time series of the institutional investors.

Illustration and examples

August 2012: The sub-indices of the sentix Economic Sentiment Index for Euroland and for Germany are turning upwards after ECB President Draghi declared the euro irreversible at the end of July. The sentix Business Cycle Index (total) will follow in September. The ZEW Indicator of Economic Sentiment for Germany did not reverse its trend until September (bottom left-hand chart), and the Ifo Business Climate, which is comparable to the sentix Economic Sentiment Index, did not reverse its trend until November (bottom right-hand chart).

März 2011: The sentix economic expectations for Euroland and Germany drop noticeably (chart below left), but the stock market does not follow until the end of July. For Euroland, a renewed phase of economic weakness begins in mid-2011, causing the European Central Bank to resort to unconventional measures (introduction of 3-year tenders) at the end of 2011.

3_sked_zew   4_skid_ifo

Januar 2009: The sentix economic expectations for Eurland turn upwards at the turn of the year 2008/2009 as a result of the announcement of various government spending programmes, the stock markets follow in March, the economy from the middle of the year (see chart below).

Juli 2007: sentix economic expectations plummet against the backdrop of the US subprime crisis. The downward trend continues until the end of 2008. The stock markets, however, remain relatively stable until the end of 2007 and even start to collapse massively in September 2008 - after the fall of Lehman Brothers (chart below).

ifo Geschäftsklimaindex vs. sentix Konjunkturindex Deutschland

Indicator construction

Question for situation assessment

Beispiel Umfrage-Fragebogen sentix Konjunkturindex (Lagewerte)Klicken um zu vergrößern

Question on economic expectations

Beispiel Umfrage-Fragebogen sentix Konjunkturindex (Erwartungen)Klicken um zu vergrößern

Formula for the sub-indices (current situation, expectations)

8_Formel_KI_Lage_Erwartungen

Formula for the overall index

9_Formel_KI_Gesamtindex

Descriptive statistics

sentix Konjunkturindex, Deskriptive Statistik - Quelle: eigene Berechnungensentix Konjunkturindex, Deskriptive Statistik - Quelle: eigene Berechnungen

Specifications

We use cookies to personalize our content, to auto-login to our website and to improve your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site (authorization, language setting or user-security) have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information

4.6/5 rating (7 votes)
sentix Konjunkturindex

sentix Konjunkturindex

Der sentix Konjunkturindex ist der „first mover" unter den monatlichen Stimmungsindikatoren zur konjunkturellen Entwicklung. Er wird zu Monatsbeginn innerhalb von zwei Tagen unter den bei sentix registrierten Anlegern erhoben und kurz darauf veröffentlicht. Somit ist er stets der erste verfügbare unter den Frühindikatoren wie z.B. den ZEW-Konjunkturerwartungen, dem ifo Geschäftsklima oder dem Economic Sentiment. Dabei weist der sentix Konjunktur-Index in der Regel einen Vorlaufcharakter gegenüber den übrigen Indikatoren auf. Mit seiner Hilfe können die Entwicklungen der anderen Indizes meist sehr gut abgeschätzt werden.

Der sentix Konjunktur-Index ist grundsätzlich ein konjunktureller Frühindikator, mit dem sich die Entwicklung des Bruttoinlandsprodukts eines Landes oder einer Region prognostizieren lässt (Graphik unten links). Darüber hinaus ist er aber auch ein Instrument zum besseren Verständnis der Finanzmärkte. Zur Interpretation der Finanzmarktentwicklungen eignet sich der sentix Konjunktur-Index deshalb besonders gut, weil er die Einschätzungen der (befragten) Anleger widerspiegelt. Er kann damit Hinweise darauf geben, ob das Motiv der Konjunktur zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt die Kurse beeinflusst oder nicht. Steigende Aktienkurse z.B. könnten nämlich auch allein Ausdruck übermäßiger Liquidität sein, die sich ein Ventil sucht – oder eben doch eine Folge davon, dass Investoren, also die Marktteilnehmer, in Zukunft mit einer entsprechenden realwirtschaftlichen Dynamik rechnen. Eine solche Einschätzung würde dann ein steigender Konjunktur-Index anzeigen.

1_skie_bip   2_skie_esi

Ermittelt wird der sentix Konjunktur-Index seit 2003 aus einer monatlichen Umfrage unter über 4.000 privaten und institutionellen Anlegern zu deren Einschätzung der konjunkturellen Lage und deren Konjunkturerwartungen (6-Monats-Erwartungen). sentix berechnet zu diesen beiden Teilfragen Indizes und fasst diese außerdem zu einem Gesamtindex zusammen. Befragt werden die Anleger zu vier Regionen und drei Ländern. Der Gesamtindex für Euroland ist dabei der zentrale Index, über den auch regelmäßig und umfassend in den Medien berichtet wird. Er findet sich in den Veröffentlichungskalendern der Nachrichtenagenturen wie Bloomberg oder Thomson Reuters.

Wie man den Indikator nutzt

Der sentix Konjunkturindex ist einerseits ein konjunktureller Frühindikator, mit dessen Hilfe die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung verschiedener Länder und Regionen, gemessen am Bruttoinlandsprodukt, prognostiziert werden kann. Er spiegelt die Wahrnehmung der Anleger zur Konjunktur wider. Deshalb kann der sentix Konjunktur-Index andererseits aber auch zum besseren Verständnis der Entwicklungen an den Finanzmärkten beitragen. Denn er gibt Hinweise darauf, ob das Motiv der Konjunktur zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt für die Handlungen der Marktteilnehmer entscheidend und somit kursbestimmend ist oder nicht. Zum Beispiel könnten steigende Aktienkurse auch allein aus übermäßiger Liquidität resultieren – oder aber doch Folge erwarteter realwirtschaftlicher Dynamik sein, die sich dann in einem steigenden sentix Konjunktur-Index ausdrückt. Letzteres dürfte u.a. als Zeichen dafür gewertet werden, dass die Entwicklung nachhaltiger bzw. weniger risikobehaftet ist als in einem rein liquiditätsgetriebenen Markt.

Wie auch andere sentix-Indikatoren zeigt der sentix Konjunkturindex mittels seiner Tief- bzw. Hochpunkte – in der Regel mit einem Vorlauf – Umkehrpunkte sowohl bei Konjunktur als auch bei Finanzmarkttrends an. Der sentix Konjunkturindex kann damit Ein- und Ausstiegssignale für Märkte geben und als (zusätzliches) Instrument für das Timing von Kapitalmarktanlagen dienen. Zudem gibt er Hinweise darauf, wann Trends (bei Konjunktur oder an den Märkten) intakt sind und diesen gefolgt werden kann. Informationen über die Reife eines Trends liefern zudem die Teilindizes des sentix Konjunkturindex: Vor allem bei den Erwartungen laufen die Entwicklungen der institutionellen Investoren meist denen der Privatanleger voraus: Eine Trendumkehr kündigt sich folglich in der Regel zunächst über die Zeitreihen der Institutionellen an.

Beispiele von Prognoseerfolgen

August 2012: Die Teilindizes der sentix Konjunkturerwartungen für Euroland und für Deutschland drehen nach oben, nachdem EZB-Präsident Draghi den Euro Ende Juli für unumkehrbar erklärt hatte. Der sentix Konjunktur-Index (gesamt) folgt im September. Die ZEW-Konjunkturerwartungen für Deutschland schaffen erst im September die Trendwende (Grafik unten links), das mit dem sentix Konjunktur-Index vergleichbare ifo Geschäftsklima sogar erst im November (Grafik unten rechts).

März 2011: Die sentix Konjunkturerwartungen für Euroland und Deutschland fallen spürbar ab (Grafik unten links), der Aktienmarkt folgt aber erst Ende Juli. Für Euroland beginnt ab Mitte 2011 konjunkturell eine erneute Schwächephase, die die Europäische Zentralbank Ende 2011 zu unkonventionellen Maßnahmen (Einführung von 3-Jahres-Tendern) greifen lässt.

3_sked_zew   4_skid_ifo

Januar 2009: Die sentix Konjunkturerwartungen für Eurland drehen zum Jahreswechsel 2008/ 2009 in Folge der Ankündigung diverser staatlicher Ausgabenprogramme nach oben, die Aktienmärkte folgen im März, die Konjunktur ab Mitte des Jahres (s. Grafik unten).

Juli 2007: Die sentix Konjunkturerwartungen sacken vor dem Hintergrund der US-Subprime-Krise ab. Der Abwärtstrend hält bis Ende 2008 an. Die Aktienmärkte halten sich aber noch bis Ende 2007 relativ stabil und brechen massiv sogar erst ab September 2008 – nach dem Fall von Lehman Brothers – ein (Grafik unten).

5_skee_es50EuroSTOXX 50 und sentix Konjunkturerwartungen Euroland

Indikatorkonstruktion

Fragestellung zur Lagebeurteilung

Beispiel Umfrage-Fragebogen sentix Konjunkturindex (Lagewerte)Klicken um zu vergrößern

Fragestellung zu den Konjunkturerwartungen

Beispiel Umfrage-Fragebogen sentix Konjunkturindex (Erwartungen)Klicken um zu vergrößern

Formel für die Teilindizes (Lage, Erwartungen)

8_Formel_KI_Lage_Erwartungen

Formel für den Gesamtindex

9_Formel_KI_Gesamtindex

Deskriptive Statistik

sentix Konjunkturindex, Deskriptive Statistik - Quelle: eigene Berechnungensentix Konjunkturindex, Deskriptive Statistik - Quelle: eigene Berechnungen

Nächste Datenveröffentlichungen

Specifications

We use cookies to personalize our content, to auto-login to our website and to improve your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information